About us

CHRIST (Deemed to be University) was born out of the educational vision of St Kuriakose Elias Chavara, an educationalist and social reformer of the nineteenth century in South India. He founded the first Catholic indigenous congregation, Carmelites of Mary Immaculate (CMI), in 1831 which administers CHRIST (Deemed to be University).

Established in 1969 as Christ College, it undertook path-breaking initiatives in Indian higher education with the introduction of innovative and modern curricula, insistence on academic discipline, imparting of Holistic Education and adoption of global higher education practices with the support of creative and dedicated staff. The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India conferred Autonomy to Christ College in 2004 and identified it as an Institution with Potential for Excellence in 2006. In 2008 under Section 3 of the UGC Act, 1956, the Ministry of Human Resource Development of the Government of India, declared the institution a Deemed to be University, in the name and style of Christ University. One of the first institutions in India to be accredited in 1998 by the NAAC, and subsequently in 2004 and 2016, CHRIST (Deemed to be University) has the top grade ‘A’ in the 4-point scale.

The multi-disciplinary University which focuses on teaching research and service offers Bachelors to Doctoral programmes in humanities, social sciences, science, commerce, management, engineering, education, and law to over 21000 students. The Campus is a living example for the harmonious multiculturalism with students from all the states of India and around 60 different countries. CHRIST (Deemed to be University) publishes six peer-reviewed research journals and has published more than 300 books in Kannada and English. A promoter of sports, music and literary activities, it is a nurturing ground for creative excellence.

The Department of Sociology and Department of Social Work at CHRIST (Deemed to be University) emerged as a single Department by the merger of Department of Sociology which was one of the oldest Departments in the University and Department of Social work. Department offers two Post graduate programmes in Applied Sociology and Social Work. It also offers Undergraduate programmes under the triple major system with the departments of psychology, economics and journalism. There are MPhil, PhD and Post- Doctoral Fellowship programmes for aspiring research scholars. The Department works towards the pursuit of excellence in academics and skill training of students of sociology as well as those aspiring to be social work professionals. In addition to its focus on academic engagement, the department strives to engage in providing services to society through student led projects for communities in need of support. Inspired by the ever-changing social context and the needs of people, the department initiates programmes that cater to the emerging needs of the society. The department organises researches, educational programs, seminars, workshops, camps as part of its curriculum. The value of learning through service is significantly incorporated in the academic programmes. The curriculum offered by the department provides opportunities for the holistic development of the students and blends learning from the classroom with experiential learning.